Find below details on the call’s implementation:


The timeline of the JTC 2017 “Synaptic Dysfunction in Disorders of the Central Nervous System” is shown below:

11 January 2017Launch of the call
14 March 2017Deadline for pre-proposal submission
10 May 2017Selection of a short list of 43 projects
29 June 2017Deadline for full proposal submission
20 September 2017Peer review panel meeting, ranking list
November 2017Funding decision
First half 2018 Start of projects

Proposal submission, peer review process, funding decision

Proposal submission

Research consortia had to consist of 3 - 5 research groups from at least three NEURON partner countries participating in this call. Consortia including partners from countries that are to date underrepresented in this funding scheme (Latvia, Romania, Slovakia, and Turkey) could increase the total number of partners to six. The two-step process required at first the submission of short pre-proposals describing the research idea. From these a short list was selected and the respective consortia were invited to submit full proposals (see also below).
Both pre- and full proposals had to be submitted electronically by the coordinator of the consortium. Proposal templates and guidelines were provided by the Joint Call Secretariat in order to support the applicants in terms of the proposal format. The Joint Call Secretariat is hosted by the National Institute of Health Carlos III (ISCIII), Spain.

Peer Review

In order to properly cover all aspects of the broad topic, 41 experts were recruited from NEURON partner countries and beyond. Each pre-proposal was assessed in writing by three evaluators. The assessments were based on the criteria listed in the call text and consisted of a global score and additional comments. The projects were ranked according to the reviewer’s scores. Based on this ranking list, the funding organisations selected 43 projects whose coordinators were invited by the Joint Call Secretariat to submit full proposals. Eighteen experts on the Peer Review Panel (PRP) discussed these full proposals thoroughly in a face-to-face meeting and eventually provided a funding recommendation for each proposal and a ranking list.

Funding decision and granting process

The funding decision was taken by the funding organisations participating in the joint call for proposals. Starting with the best proposal and following the ranking list, as many proposals were selected for funding taking into account the national budgets available.

As a result of this step, the top 12 projects could be funded. The projects comprise 59 research groups (Principal Investigators) from 15 countries. The total funding volume amounts to about 12.4 m€ for three years.

In a last step, the Principal Investigators had to fulfil legal and administrative requirements of their national / regional funding agencies, in order to receive the grant.

Most of the projects started during the first half of 2018.

Funding organisations supporting this call

20 funding organisations from 17 countries participated in the JTC 2017 “Synaptic Dysfunction in Disorders of the Central Nervous System”.

Funding OrganisationCountry
Austrian Science Fund (FWF)Austria
Fonds de la Recherche Scientifique (FNRS) Belgium
Research Foundation – Flanders (FWO)Belgium
Fonds de recherche du Québec - Santé (FRQS) (Québec)Canada (Québec)
Academy of Finland (AKA)Finland
French National Research Agency (ANR)France
Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)Germany
Chief Scientist Office, Ministry of Health (CSO-MOH)Israel
The National Technological Innovation AuthorityIsrael
Ministry of Health (MOH)Italy
State Education Development Agency (VIAA)Latvia
The Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO)The Netherlands
The Research Council of Norway (RCN)Norway
National Centre for Research and Development (NCBR)Poland
Executive Agency for Higher Education, Research, Development & Innovation Funding (UEFISCDI)Romania
Slovak Academy of Sciences (SAS)Slovakia
National Institute of Health Carlos III (ISCIII)  Spain
Ministry of Economy and CompetitivenessSpain
Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF)Switzerland
The Scientific and Technological Research Council of Turkey (TUBITAK)Turkey