Funded Projects

Ten transnational research consortia are funded under the umbrella of the NEURON JTC2014 “Neuroinflammation”. In total, 43 research groups from 17 European countries, Canada and Israel collaborate in these projects. The total funding volume of the call adds up to 10.1 M €.

Projects and partners are shown below. Please click on “summary” to download a brief project overview. See also our newsletter on the JTC2014.




Coordinator (in bold) and Partners


Brain Inflammation, Glia and Epilepsy

summary (pdf, 80 KB)

Etienne Audinat (FR)
Marco de Curtis (IT)
Frank Kirchhoff (DE)
Christian Steinhäuser (DE)
Kjell Heuser (NO)


Neuroinflammatory mechanisms of chronic neurodegeneration and cognitive decline following traumatic brain injury

summary (pdf, 84 KB)

Nikolaus Plesnila (DE)
Jerome Badaut (FR)
Maija Dambrova (LV)*
Niklas Marklund (SE)
Esther Shohami (IL)
Anna-Leena Siren (DE)


Identification and study of different immune cell populations and their role in chronic pain

summary (pdf, 96 KB)

Stephen McMahon (UK)
Ralf Baron (DE)
Camilla Svensson (SE)


MEchanisms of Lymphocytes TRansmigration Across the Blood Brain Barrier

summary (pdf, 64 KB)

Ari Waisman (DE)
Alexander Flügel (DE)
Hans Lassmann (AT)
Roland Liblau (FR)
Adela Penesova (SK)*
Alexandre Prat (CA)


Role of microglial metabolism in perinatal neuroinflammation

summary (pdf, 52 KB)

Pierre Gressens (FR)
Peter Carmeliet (BE)
Henrik Hagberg (SE)
Claudia Verderio (IT)


The Role of the Gut Microbiome on Neuroinflammation and Neurodevelopmental Disorders

summary (pdf, 48 KB)

Marc-Emmanuel Dumas (UK)
Xavier Altafaj (ES)
Laetitia Davidovic (FR)
Boris Macek (DE)


Advancing an antigen-specific nanomedicine for the treatment of central nervous system autoimmunity

summary (pdf, 112 KB)

Pere Santamaria (CA)
Manuela Battaglia (IT)
Pau Serra (ES)


Master regulators of  neuroinflammation in parasitic brain infections

summary (pdf, 172 KB)

Martin Rottenberg (SE)
Antonio Barragan (SE)
Monique Lafon (FR)
Carlos Penha Gonçalves (PT)
Dirk Schlüter (DE)


Investigation of the neuroinflammatory basis of human type I interferonopathies

summary (pdf, 72 KB)

Yanick Crow (UK)
Jose Luis García-Pérez (ES)
Thomas Michiels (BE)
Brigitte Onteniente (FR)
Marco Prinz (DE)


Transition from acute to chronic neuroinflammation

summary (pdf, 104 KB)

Michael Heneka (DE)
Joseph Bertrand (SE)
Séverine Boillée (FR)
Eran Segal (IL)
Marie-Ève Tremblay (CA)

Proposals are presented in alphabetical order according to their acronym. 

*Accession to the consortium in the scope of NEURON’s widening concept after the peer-review.