2014 Paper Award

EXCELLENT PAPER IN NEUROSCIENCE AWARD – for papers published in 2013

1. General call description

The ERA-NET NEURON partner countries are issuing the EXCELLENT PAPER IN NEUROSCIENCE AWARD to recognize the most remarkable and outstanding scientific publications by early-career researchers in the field of disease-related neurosciences. First authors of candidate publications published between January 1st, 2013 and December 31st, 2013 and affiliated with the call partner countries are eligible to apply. The deadline for proposal submission is September 15th, 2014.

An award of 3,000 Euros will be awarded to the best proposal. The winner will be invited as a special ERA-NET NEURON Early-career Investigator lecturer in the ERA-NET NEURON meeting in Vienna, Austria in January 2015. The award and travel costs related to the lecture will be covered by ERA-NET NEURON II.

Call Partner Countries: Austria, Belgium, Canada, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Luxembourg, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom.

2. Aim of the call

ERA-NET NEURON (the Network of European Funding for Neuroscience Research) has been set up to link 21 national research funding programmes and organizations in the field of disease-related neurosciences in Europe, Israel, and Canada. The EXCELLENT PAPER IN NEUROSCIENCE AWARD will emphasize the importance of neuroscience and will contribute to integrate the neuroscience research community. The award is designed as a form of support and encouragement for early-career researchers at the early stage of their career.

3. Eligibility

The candidate must fulfil the following criteria: 



First Author in the proposed publication.

Age under 35 years old at the date of publication. Eligible breaks include parental leaves, long-term illness and national service. Other legal or personal circumstances are considered on a case-by-case basis. Concerning parental leave, national rules apply, or 12 months per child, whichever is the greatest.

Less than 5 years from PhD dissertation at the date of publication.

The Author must be affiliated in a call partner country at the time of publication.

In case of equal first co-authorship, the award may be split if all authors meet the eligibility criteria for the award.



Award period: published between January 1st, 2013 and December 31st, 2013.

Original research article in an international peer review journal.

Impact factor of the journal above 10 based on the ISI Web of Knowledge.

Topic of the article must be clearly relevant to disease-related neurosciences

Affiliation of the first author in a call partner country as stated in the publication.


4.  Application

Early-career researchers from the ERA-NET partner countries listed in the call text may submit a proposal for the EXCELLENT PAPER IN NEUROSCIENCE AWARD. The proposal must be submitted electronically using the online form available through the NEURON web page www.neuron-eranet.org. Both pre- and postdoctoral early-career researchers working in ERA-NET NEURON partner countries are encouraged to apply.

Applications are accepted from the first author of an original article published within the award period. The application consists of the following documents, bundled together into a single PDF file:

  • One page summary addressing the significance of the work
  • Short biosketch (maximum of one page for each first author)
  • PDF of the article

The deadline for applications is September 15th, 2014. Applications must be sent to the ERA-NET NEURON joint call secretariat (see details in PDF form) by 5:00 PM (UTC-GMT time) on September 15th, 2014. Incomplete applications will be rejected.

5. Evaluation

ERA-NET NEURON will carry out the evaluation of the proposals by consulting high-level scientists in the neuroscience field. The proposals will be evaluated on the following criteria:

  • theoretical approach and scientific quality
  • scientific impact for the area
  • novelty and innovativeness of research

Based on the evaluation, the highest ranking proposal will be awarded the prize. Preference will be given to early-career researchers at the beginning of their career.

6. Management

The ERA-NET NEURON Joint Call Secretariat together with the national funding agencies will be responsible for the management of the evaluation process.

The applicants will be informed about the decisions individually by the Joint Call Secretariat in November 2014.

7. Award Presentation

The winner will be invited as a special ERA-NET NEURON Early-career Investigator lecturer in the ERA-NET NEURON Meeting in Vienna, in January 2015. The award and travel costs related to the lecture will be covered by ERA-NET NEURON II. The winner may also be invited to contribute to the planning of the future activities in early-career investigator support within the ERA-NET NEURON network.

8. Call Schedule



Announcement of the call

August 2014

Deadline for proposal submission

September 15th, 2014

Evaluation of the proposals

October 2014

Decisions and information about the evaluation results

November 2014

Award Presentation Ceremony

January 2015


9. National Contacts for further information

For further information, follow the links below or contact your national representative:



Contact person

Contact information


Dr. Herbert Mayer

Austrian Science Fund (FWF)

Belgium (Flanders)

Dr. Olivier Boehme

Research Foundation – Flanders (FWO)

Canada (Québec)

Dr. Anne-Cécile Desfaits

Fonds de recherche du Québec - Santé (FRQS) AnneCecile.Desfaits@frq.gouv.qc.ca


Dr. Elizabeth Theriault

Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR)


Dr. Hannele Lahtinen

Academy of Finland (AKA)


Dr. Natalia Martin

National Research Agency (ANR) Health & Biology Department natalia.martin@agencerecherche.fr


Dr. Alexander Klein

PT-DLR Programme Management Health Research  alexander.klein@dlr.de


Dr. Katrín Valgeirsdottir

The Icelandic Centre for Research (RANNIS)


Dr. Benny Leshem



Dr. Cinzia Kutschera

Ministero della Salute


Dr. Frank Gold

Fonds National de la Recherche (FNR)


Dr. Marcin Chmielewski               

National Centre for Research and Development (NCBR)


Dr. Anabela Isidro

Fundação para a Ciência e Tecnologia (FCT)


Prof. Dr. Leon Zagrean

CAROL DAVILA University of Medicine and Pharmacy/Neuroscience leon_zagrean@cnmp.ro

Spain I

Dr. Julio Barbas

Ministerio de Economía y Competitividad (MICINN)


Dr. Maria Thuveson

The Swedish Research Council (SRC)


Dr. Jacqui Oakley

Medical Research Council (MRC) Jacqui.Oakley@HEADOFFICE.MRC.AC.UK http://www.mrc.ac.uk/index.htm






    [PDF - 156.1 kB]

     (URL: http://www.neuron-eranet.org/_media/EPNA_announcement_August_2014_v4.pdf)


    [PDF - 110.9 kB]

     (URL: http://www.neuron-eranet.org/_media/Application_form_EPNA_2014.pdf)