2012 Paper Award

General call description

The ERA-NET NEURON partner countries will issue the EXCELLENT PAPER IN NEUROSCIENCE AWARD to recognize the most remarkable and outstanding scientific publications by young researchers in the field of disease related neurosciences. First authors of candidate publications published between the period 1.1.2011 – 31.12.2011 affiliated in the call partner countries are eligible to apply. The deadline for proposal submission is September 30th, 2012.
An award of 3000 € will be awarded to the best proposal. The winner will be invited as a special ERA-NET NEURON Young Investigator lecturer in one of the ERA-NET NEURON Scientific Workshops organized during the year 2013. The award and travel costs related to the lecture will be covered by ERA-NET NEURON II.
Call Partner Countries: Canada, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Luxembourg, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom

1. Aim of the call

ERA-NET NEURON the Network of European Funding for Neuroscience Research has been set up to link 21 national research funding programmes and funding organizations in the field of disease related neurosciences in Europe, Israel and Canada. The EXCELLENT PAPER IN NEUROSCIENCE AWARD will emphasize the importance of neuroscience and will contribute to integrate the neuroscience research community. The award is designed as a form of support and encouragement for young researchers at the early stage of their career.

2. Eligibility: The candidate must fulfil the following criteria

  • First Author in the proposed publication
  • Age below 35 at the date of publication, eligible breaks include parental leaves, long-term illness and national service. Other legal or personal circumstances are considered on a case-by-case basis. Concerning parental leave, national rules apply, or 12 months per child, whichever is the greater.
  • Less than 5 years from PhD-dissertation at the date of publication.
  • The Author must be affiliated in a call partner country at the time of publication.
  • In case of equal first co-authorship the award may be split if all authors meet the eligibility criteria for the award.
  • Award period: published between 1.1.2011 – 31.12.2011
  • Original research article in an international peer review journal
  • Impact factor of the journal above 10 based on the ISI Web of Knowledge
  • Topic of the article must be clearly relevant to disease related neuroscience
  • Affiliation of the first author in a call partner country as stated in the publication.
3. Application

Young researchers from the ERA-NET partner countries listed in the call text may submit a proposal for the EXCELLENT PAPER IN NEUROSCIENCE AWARD. The proposal must be submitted electronically using the online form. Both pre- and postdoctoral young researchers working in ERA-NET NEURON partner countries are encouraged to apply.
Applications are accepted from the first author of an original article published within the award period. The application consists of the following documents, bundled together into a single PDF file:
  • One page summary addressing the significance of the work
  • Short biosketch (max 1 page for each first author)
  • PDF of the article
The deadline for applications is September 30th, 2012. Applications have to be submitted through the electronic submission system by 3:00 PM (Central European Time) on September 30th, 2012. Incomplete applications will be rejected.

4. Evaluation

ERA-NET NEURON will carry out the evaluation of the proposals by consulting high-level scientists in the neuroscience field. The proposals will be evaluated for the following criteria:
  • theoretical approach and scientific quality
  • scientific impact for the area
  • novelty and innovativeness of research
Based on the evaluation, the highest ranking proposal will be awarded. Preference will be given to young researchers at the beginning of their career.

5. Management

The ERA-NET NEURON Joint Call Secretariat together with the national funding agencies will be responsible for the management of the evaluation process.
The applicants will be informed about the decisions individually by the Joint Call Secretariat in November 2012.

6. Award Presentation

The winner will be invited as an ERA-NET NEURON Young Investigator lecturer in a scientific workshop organized by ERA-NET NEURON during the year 2013. The award and travel costs related to the lecture will be covered by ERA-NET NEURON. The winner may also be invited to contribute to the planning of the future activities in young investigator support within the ERA-NET NEURON network.

7. Call Schedule

Announcement of the call   June – July 2012
Deadline for proposal submission   September 30th, 2012
Evaluation of the proposals   October, 2012
Decisions and information about the evaluation results   November, 2012
Award Presentation Ceremonyn   Year 2012

8. National Contacts for further information

For further information follow the links below or contact your national representative:


Contact person

Contact information

Canada, Quebec

Dr. Anne-Cécile Desfaits

Fonds de la recherche en santé du Québec (FRSQ) 



Dr. Elizabeth Theriault

Canadian Institutes of Health Research CIHR 



Dr. Mika Tirronen

Academy of Finland (AKA) mika.tirronen@aka.fi http://www.aka.fi/fi/


Dr. Natalia Martin

National Research Agency (ANR) Health & Biology Department natalia.martin@agencerecherche.fr



Dr. Petra Pütz

PT-DLR Programme Management Health Research  Petra.Lueers@dlr.de



Dr. Katrín Valgeirsdottir

The Icelandic Centre for Research (RANNIS)
katrin@rannis.is  www.rannis.is


Dr. Nava Levine

Chief Scientist Office - Ministry of Health (CSO-MOH) 
nl@013.net.il   www.health.gov.il


Dr. Cinzia Kutschera

Ministero della Salute 
c.kutschera@sanita.it   www.ministerosalute.it/


Dr. Frank Glod

Fonds National de la Recherche (FNR) frank.glod@fnr.lu http://www.fnr.lu/


Dr. Marcin Chmielewski


National Centre for Research and Development (NCBiR)   


Dr. Anabela Isidro

Fundação para a Ciência e Tecnologia (FCT)
Anabela.Isidro@fct.pt    www.fct.pt


Prof. Dr. Leon Zagrean

CAROL DAVILA University of Medicine and Pharmacy/Neuroscience leon_zagrean@cnmp.ro

Spain I

Dr. Julio Barbas

Ministry of Science and Innovation (MICINN) julio.barbas@micinn.es http://www.micinn.es/

Spain II

Dr. Rafael De Andrés Medina

Instituto de Salud Carlos III (ISCIII) Fund for Health Research (FIS) rdam@isciii.es Tel: (+34) 918222508 http://www.isciii.es/htdocs/index.jsp


Dr. Maria Thuveson

The Swedish Research Council (SRC) maria.thuveson@vr.se   http://www.vr.se/


Dr. Joanna Jenkinson

Medical Research Council (MRC) Joanna.Jenkinson@HEADOFFICE.MRC.AC.UK   http://www.mrc.ac.uk/index.htm